Retro Review: Scary Movie

Those infamous Wayan Brothers attack the teen slasher flicks of the past 7 years. Somebody had to.

Scary Movie” follows the exploits of Cindy Campbell (Anna Faris) and friends who seem to be stalked by a serial killer. Only this time there are laughs, shocks, and total lunacy as we wonder who will live and who will die.

I was a little afraid of seeing this film after I read that the Wayans’ parents walked out of the film during its Hollywood premiere.

As the opening sequence began and we see Carmen Electra playing the Drew Barrymore role from “Scream” I started to see where the film was going.

I liked the quick pace and jumping from parody to parody with a very loose plot holding it together. Its no holds barred and before you can become insulted or alarmed it’s on to the next joke.

And because of this pace is why I liked “Scary Movie” a lot more than I did “Me, Myself and Irene” earlier this summer. The pacing allows the proper jokes to find the right audience member.

Don’t get me wrong “Scary Movie” is also vulgar and a gross-out comedy but it kind of fits when it tries to parody the gore and sexually curious characters often seen in “slasher” films. I laughed, grabbed my stomach and had a lot of fun during most of this film. Some of the jokes were a little over board for me but for the most part I had fun.

(3.5 out of 5)

So Says the Soothsayer.

Leave a Reply

