Retro Review: Hollywood Homicide

Harrison Ford used to be one of the iconic and reliable working actors in Hollywood. The steadfast and rugged actor could always bring his unique intensity and American hero attitude to a project and save the day.

In recent years, Mr. Ford seems to have lost his edge. Hollywood Homicide becomes Ford’s second film in a row that I had a extreme amount of difficult sitting through.

Ford plays Hollywood homicide detective Joe Gavilan, a rugged, stiff career policeman who moonlights as a real-estate salesman.

Gavilan has just acquired a new partner, K. C.Calden (Josh Hartnett) who is an aspiring actor and yoga instructor as well as a cop.

These micromanaging cops are called out to a nightclub where a rising rap group has been killed. Who had it in for the group? Can these cops keep their private lives at bay long enough to unravel the case?

Director Ron Shelton and star Harrison Ford seemed to have pulled every Los Angeles, Hollywood and cop cliché in tinseltown history for this film.

You have the fighting traffic helicopters, the studly-squeaky-clean rookie cop, the seasoned grumpy veteran, freeway chases, star cameos, and even a crooked record exec. If that wasn’t bad enough the film also decides to use the stereo-typical world of rap artists. You have one cliché investigating one stereo-type. Give me a break!!

To say that I was disappointed with Hollywood Homicide is a great understatement. The film was more awful than I imagined. About 20 minutes in I was bored out of my skull. I just couldn’t believe the filmmakers thought this was worth anyone’s time. The theatre was silent through most of film which is never a good sign.

I found it extremely hard to feel anything for these characters since they seemed more interested in their lives away from the case. I found myself being a lot more interested what I was going to do after the film.

The only surprising thing I liked about the film was Lena Olin.

I am not a huge fan of Ms. Olin but here she seemed to be the only character who seemed centered and not caught up in micromanagement.

She felt the most real in this cliché-ridden quagmire. I have to admire an actress who can overcome these odds to stick out.

I am not sure if this film was equal to its competition in “Dumb & Dumberer” but at least with that film you know what you are getting in the title. A retitle to “Hollywood Suicide” or “Hollywood Dumbest” would have at least clarified somethings for this viewer. I expected so much more from Ford & Company.

(1 out of 5)

So Says the Soothsayer.

One thought on “Retro Review: Hollywood Homicide

Leave a Reply

